Valentine’s Week

I’ve been a busy Valentine’s elf the past few weeks, getting ready for my favorite holiday.  Anticipation of an event evidently massively contributes to the amount of joy a person experiences for any given event or experience, and I really enjoy the anticipation and process of inherent in each of my crafts almost as much as I enjoy experiencing the final product.

Here are the final pictures of my Valentine’s tablescape, that was inspired for the “Small Bites, Dirty Martinis” party that we hosted to celebrate Valentine’s.

_DSC0038 _DSC0029 _DSC0031 _DSC0042 _DSC0043

My wonderful mother-in-law got these pretty Valentine’s day ribbons, and I wrapped my glass vases with them half-way and then pinned together with a pearl pin.  I originally wrapped the entire vase, but then decided it would be just as fun to see the stems as to see the petals.  I used the cross-hatching tape trick to make the flowers a little more even.  Both the tablecloth and runner were handmade:  I selected the fabric I thought would be divine for the vision and my mother-in-law did the sewing.  The table was set with martini glasses to go with the party theme.

Here’s how it looks at night (as I am writing this post), post-party date.

photo-9

And a few other crafts and events keeping me busy this week.  A homemade Valentine sign that I made for my dear friend to hang in her kitchen (it was actually requested at the end of last year) and the First Saturday Event in Frederick Fire and Ice, with various Love-Inspired Ice Sculptures, what fun!

_DSC0142 _DSC0156 _DSC0002 _DSC0005

I’ve planned a wonderful Valentine’s surprise for my sweetie.  We have dinner reservations the evening of and I’ve conspired with Maryland Shakespeare Festival to arrive during dinner to read him Sonnet No. 24.  I’m so pleased that they offer this for the most romantic day of the year and am hoping to video my husband’s reaction and the Sonnet.

Wishing you a day inspired by love regardless of your romantic status.  When I was single, I used to buy a single red rose for myself the day of (and take-out, of course).

What are your plans?

One thought on “Valentine’s Week

  1. Hi Jessica, I’m stopping by from Blog Boss – I’m also in the Northeast (Philadelphia though!) – I wanted to tell you that I absolutely LOVE that you have tablescapes as a category on your blog. I’ve got a thing for tables.

What'd you think?

