Maple-Berries

_DSC0013I developed this “recipe” (if you can call it that) after suffering a horrible sweet-tooth with no chocolate remaining in the house.  Yes, some berries are sweet enough without having to add anything to them, but if you are a sugar-addict, like me, plain berries don’t always hit the proverbial spot.  So, because we don’t generally have/use refined sugar in our home or any artificial sweeteners for that matter, I was forced to resort to a high-grade maple syrup that we happened to have leftover in the pantry (from an abandoned Master Cleanse stint), which I poured lightly over my berries.  The viscosity of this maple syrup in particular is very thin and light in color, so the effect is not sweetness-overload, but instead highlights the berries’ delicate and juicy notes.  Now, this is my favorite go-to snack, which is certainly more practical than staging a coup each time we run out of chocolate.

xx

9 thoughts on “Maple-Berries

  1. Hi Jessica,

    I can totally relate! Sometimes I just eat chunks of dark chocolate straight from the bag…okay…a lot. I do it a lot. This seems much more nutritious though! I will have to try this. Thanks for liking my Thai Coconut Curry with Kelp Noodles. Use vegan bloggers have to stick together! 😉

  2. I have a secret stash of Dark Chocolate in my freezer at all times. Well I did until one day my husband found and raided it. This seems like a great idea, and a much healthier alternative….haha

What'd you think?

