Where do you think you’re going, baby?

_DSC0251

This post is intended as a weekly recap post otherwise known as a “I’m too discombobulated to come up with a cohesive theme” post.  The Morrocan party for my husband’s 40th birthday (a few pictures above and below) was a success and as soon as I get the professional photos back, I’ll do a series of posts on all of it.  Of course, I’ve been experiencing hindsight flashes galloping through my mind at warp speed of what could have been better and every blogger’s worst nightmare: not getting pictures (or the right pictures) of elements that took 3 months to plan.  I didn’t have time to get photos of everything because I was too busy getting it ready, so I’m just hoping that pictures of my cakepops (that we drove an hour to get each way) lined up head to toe on a gold framed mirror around a glass vase of strawberries came out, for example.

_DSC0242

_DSC0243

_DSC0244

_DSC0236

And a few pictures of me, my husband, and friends (I’ll post all the details of the décor, DIYs, and tricks in upcoming weeks, like our homemade picture backdrop that turned out so cool!):

1

1053451_10152972625000093_2051775192_o

Here’s a few things we’ve been up to this week:

Decompressing with naps and too many calories while finding a new level of respect for Bobby Flay and his Burger Palace (that’s a bourbon caramel vanilla milkshake with homemade whipped cream, for those customers looking for something understated and less indulgent):

IMG_1658

IMG_1635

IMG_1634

Discovering that Banjo really is pretty entertaining and enjoyable, especially with Steve Martin’s stand up in between sets (Steve Martin on the banjo with his band at Wolftrap):

_DSC0319

_DSC0323

Savoring the post-party glow from my kitchen table (my favorite part):

_DSC0293

_DSC0284

 

And tonight, packing for a 3 day trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota for a unique family wedding where we’re also planning a buffalo hunt (and lots of work to squeeze in somewhere in the middle).

Enjoy your week’s end!

xx

10 thoughts on “Where do you think you’re going, baby?

  1. Wow you are doing something that I absolutely LIVE for. Its doing a party in grand style and in an exotic setting. Great set up and looks like a great party. I love love your outfit….very appropriate. Love it all.
    Im officially your blog follower

  2. WOW WOW WOW!!!! You are amazing! Bravo, Jessica. I can’t wait to see all of the professional pictures. You looked incredible 🙂 Miss you all…. much love, Sarah

  3. Your husband is a lucky man to have such a thoughtful and creative wife. I cannot even imagine pulling such a thing off, but it looks like it was gorgeous, and I know people must have been very impressed. And you even got to see Steve Martin in person at some point! Love to hear him on the banjo. Such a multi-talented man. Great job, Jessica.

  4. Pingback: Frederick 4th of July | fat vegan baby

What'd you think?

