Tart Cherry Sangria

_DSC0400

 

Happy Weekend!  I have to say I was so thrilled on Friday to have the weekend arrive and get a short break from what’s seemed like complete chaos at work the past two weeks. This weekend is almost entirely unscheduled–my favorite type! I’m finishing up a few projects (DIY sunscreen, brown-paper wrapped gifts, homemade pesto, planning for my upcoming classes, and a watercolor mood board), afternoon crafting with my favorite 5 year old, art journaling with my most creative girlfriends, and starting to pack for Paris (we leave next week)!  

This summer, I’ve been trying my hand at Sangria in an effort to repurpose the many of bottles of blush wine that we have stored up and the extra peaches, cherries, and berries that we’ve been getting from local farms.  Here is the tart cherry Sangria I made today, which was a twist on Bobby Flay’s recipe:

1 Bottle rosé wine
1/4 cup white rum
1/3 bottle ounces sparkling lemon water
1 orange, thinly sliced into disks about 1/4 of an inch thick
1 lemon, thinly sliced into disks about 1/4 of an inch thick
1 pint fresh cherries (depitted and halved), 1/2 pint fresh strawberries cut into quarters, a handful of blueberries, a handful of rasberries

 

_DSC0398

It goes fast, especially if you are sharing with guests, so don’t be afraid to double the recipe!  

xx

What'd you think?

