Cranberry, Purples, and Turquoise

cranberr2

Leslie Shrewing is one of my long-time favorite stylists/photographers/bloggers (she also has her first book coming out with Holly of decor8 this fall which I am so looking forward to!) and the other day while I was puddling around the house (actually making a few watercolor cards for friends’ gifts, to be exact), it occurred to me that everything this summer has been filled with arts, crafts, and creative endeavors involving almost exclusively 3 palettes: cranberries, turquoises, and purples.  So, this was post was inspired by Leslie‘s work, who I actually had a chance to meet a year ago in New York.

_DSC0473

Ribbons from the Ribbon factory by my house (we get most of them for under $2.00 each).

_DSC0442

Fabric swatches from Mood during a weekend trip to New York a few weekends ago (a divine runner is in the works using a cranberry/black damask fabric that I got during that trip for my fall tablescape).

_DSC0439

Planing the curriculum for a crafting/life coaching class I’m teaching this fall incorporating magazines for art journaling, watercolors for happiness jars, ephemera for mixed media projects, and, of course, blank journals.

cran3

Left-over scraps of hand-made papers from PaperSource that I used for a recent banner and various watercolor designs using a ruler and pencil (I usually do this sort of thing while my husband and I are watching tv at night after the baby goes to bed!).

Isn’t it funny how you can be attracted to the same patterns, palettes, and color schemes for a certain period of time and not even realize it?

 

xx 

 

What'd you think?

