Breaking a Veggie Burger

_DSC0054A few weeks ago, I set the intention to MAKE veggie burgers, fries, cupcakes, and a small cake for my son’s upcoming 2nd birthday party.  Last Friday, I tested out the recipes for the veggie burger and fries for the first time on my family.  The upside: the recipes turned out  tasty.  The downside:  it was a wee bit more work than I anticipated.  Especially for 3o people.

_DSC0061

Revised intention:  BUY veggie burgers, fries, dipped marshmellows, and cake.  In the meantime, I’m planning on remaking this veggie burger recipe many many more times, which even the baby gobbled up.  (I can’t remember how I found this sweet blogger, but I always enjoy her posts and updates on her life.)  I remember Nigella saying at her Chicago event earlier this year that encouraging people who aren’t regulars in the kitchen to cook when guests come over to entertain is like pushing someone to enter nascar when they’ve only got their permit.  With a few more dry-runs, I might be able to do these for Judah’s 10th birthday.

_DSC0049 Here’s Daily Garnish’s recipe  for Black Bean Vegan Burgers (I thought the addition of onions, fresh herbs, and even more carrots would have made them even better):

2.5 cans of black beans, 2 grated carrots, 1/2 cup dry rolled oats, 1/4 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds), 1 tbsp olive oil, a pinch of cinnamon, salt and pepper, cumin, coriander, chili powder, onion powder, cayenne.  Blend in a food processor and then fold in the remaining 1/2 of black beans to the mixture. Form into patties and bake, sautee, or grill after brushing with olive oil.  I sauteed a few and baked the rest at 425 degrees F for about 30 minutes.

With a few more dry-runs, I may be able to do these for Judah’s 10th birthday.

Happy Weekend!

What'd you think?

