Homemade Red Sauce for Pizza

redsauce5

Bonjour mes amours!  I had the opportunity to make and deliver pizza to a friend this week, who had recently undergone surgery and was housebound.

Last week, I shared a recipe for homemade pizza dough that I learned in my cooking class at the Kitchen Studio Cooking School.  Chef Chris also gave us a recipe for homemade red sauce in that class, which I used for this Margherita pizza.  My caveat, though, is to take a class over there to witness a trained professional make this recipe, ask questions, and get feedback on your own process.  It’s a completely personalized and empowering experience and you will undoubtedly gain inspiration to infuse into your daily routine.

Ingredients for Homemade Red Sauce for Pizza:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 cup onion (minced), 1 tsp sugar, 1 garlic clove (minced), 15 oz. tomato sauce, 1/4 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp crushed fennel seeds, salt/pepper to taste

redsauce1Directions:

  • Sautee onions in olive olive and add sugar.  Lower heat and cook onions in the sugar for 10 minutes.  Add garlic and cook 1 minute longer.
  • Lower heat and add tomato sauce, dried herbs, and fennel and cook uncovered until thick about 15 minutes.
  • Season with S/P to taste.

redsauce3As you know, I cook my pizzas on an overturned cookie sheet.  (Before I bought this or this, I wanted to make sure that I was actually going to be making pizzas and that the recipes from the pizza class were not going to make their way to my shelf of recipe books that are rarely, if ever, visited.)  So this is what I used to deliver the pizza to my friend, giving her instructions to heat her oven to the highest setting, bake for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet, and add the basil after the pizza comes out.

To keep the basil fresh, I put it in a plastic baggie with a wet paper towel.

If all else fails and you find yourself making a pizza for delivery to a friend, include a decadent dessert in the bag.  My little note on the cake said, “Chocolate Cake (in case pizza didn’t work out).”

redsauce2

Happy eating!

xx

What'd you think?

