Boy’s Airplane Room and My Nietzsche Design Philosophy

boy's-airplane-room5

Despite moving into our new condo in late October, I have yet to do any posts on our new home, which we designed and built from a raw space.  There are a few reasons.  First, I’ve been spending more time at the office lately and, as you may know, I try where I can to use all natural light for my photography on the blog.  So, by the time I’ve been getting home in the winter, the proper light for blog photographs has vanished.  Second, we haven’t finished many of the design elements until just recently.  Judah’s room, however, was not one of them.  His room I finished decorating almost immediately after we moved in.  The theme:  Vintage airplane with a color palette of classic red, navy blue, and light grey.

For the rugs in Judah’s room, I decided to use the individual tiles from FLOR in different colors to create the effect of separate play areas.  FLOR started sending me their catalog last year, and I’ve been waiting for the perfect opportunity to give it a try.  For children’s use especially, the tiles are fantastic.  Spills and stains come right up, and they wear quite well for the traffic they endure.  I was initially planning to do a grey set of carpet tiles under bed, but the little roadway carpet gets so much use (from IKEA), I couldn’t part with it.  I still might add a few tiles under the bed, but right now I’m satisfied with the result.  I also love that breaking up a room into separate carpeted areas allows greater visibility of the beautiful hardwood floors.

boy's-airplane-room6

Like most 2 year old boys, the core delights in my son’s world revolve around airplanes, firetrucks, and other construction-related vehicles.  The daily sight of a crane, dumptruck, or firetruck (which he continues to sit down on the skybridge to stare at every morning before school) still elicits a vigorous squeal from my 25-month-old boy.  That, and after we put him to bed, he quietly opens the door to his room, smiling like a Cheshire cat, darts out, and his little feet patter down the hall, just before he jumps in front of the couch where we’re sitting, spurting out squeals of delight laced with maniacial laughter.

Boy's-Airplane-room

The majority of decor for the room came from Restoration Hardware with a few exceptions.  The vintage mobiles I found on Amazon here and here.  I’ve been focusing more and more on ceiling decor at home and for my events, whether it’s paint, wallpaper,  mobiles, banners, or hanging art.   The subtle reminders to “look up”, in my opinion, continuously inspire.

In laying out toys, I was influenced by Gretchen Rubin who posited that less can be better for children in the sense that they can get attached to “favorite” toys when they have fewer choices.  We tucked Judah’s other trucks, trains, and toys away into drawers and the closet and placed his most beloved toys on the bottom level of an IKEA bookshelf.

BOY'S-AIRPLANE-ROOM8

boy'sairplaneroom10

Usually Restoration Hardware is too masculine for my tastes, but I found this unique chest of drawers there, and I couldn’t resist.  The dresser fits perfectly into my vintage airplane theme, and I also adored it because it can follow Judah as he grows older, whatever his interests or tastes may be.  The bottom drawer we use for toy storage, which is easily accessible for him and handy for putting toys away quickly.

airplane-boy's-room9

Judah’s room connects to a buddy bath that we outfitted in mint (I’ll be sharing it next week).  His closet  has quite a few shelves that extend to the right and a built in hamper in the bottom drawer.

Why QRST you may ask?  I’ve given various responses to this question, but, if I’m being honest, it’s because those were the only consecutive letters left on the RH sale page.

boys-airplaneroom4The most beloved element of the room, I think for the whole family, is the tent from RH.  We keep a sleeping bag inside of the tent for the little tenant to use when needed.  I also wrapped battery-operated LED lights at the very top for a night-time glow.

boy'sairplaneroom11

I followed my standard interior design philosophy on this  little Boy’s Airplane Room, which as Nietzsche once espoused, Everything matters. Nothing’s important.

Happy flying!

xx

What'd you think?

