Homemade Valentine’s: I Love You Because…

homemade valentine's cards1

I’m back in Maryland this week after a low-key weekend in NYC to visit the Martha Stewart offices (post coming soon).  My husband decided, at the last minute, to join me for a lovely weekend away.  But, at the last minute, a unrelentless virus decided it wanted to come too and so, my husband was grouchy and sick for most of the trip.

It was so bitterly cold in NYC this past weekend that we didn’t leave the hotel, but luckily were staying at one of our favoirtes—the Mondrian in Soho—and they have a marvelous restaurant for dinner and breakfast, and comfortable rooms.  Truthfully, since we got rid of cable/television more than a year ago, even sitting in bed watching cable seems as indulgent as taking a bubble bath; while getting a foot massage; while eating truffles/caramel salted ice cream/and lobster linguini simultaneously; while getting my nails done; while listening to Frank Sinatra; while drinking champagne.  Of course, that would have been nice too.  When it gets that cold in NYC (or anywhere for that matter), I hear the Universe calling to me:  Goooo toooo Florridaa.

I had 4 hours on the drive up and back to NYC to plan my Valentine’s for this year.  I initially planned this project for my husband, but had so much fun with it, I then did one for my son, and just kept going from there.  It’s called 10 Things I Love About You and is intended to be used like an advent calendar–but for each day you count down to Valentine’s, you send/give one I Love You Because card to your Valentine.

homemade-valentine's-cards2

I made these sweet 4×6 cards in Illustrator, each one says I Love You Because…and there’s space to write in your own personalized love note.  I sized them to be 4×6 so that I could attach a 4×6 photo on the back of the person I was sending it to.  So, for my husband I included photos us together and of our family, for aunts and uncles I used photos that I have recently taken of them, and for my son I had fun going back to his baby pictures and included a mix of everyhing.   I hand wrote some of the cards and, on others, I printed my reason off and taped the phrase onto the card (it looked kinda like a fortune cookie).

homemade-valentine's-3

Accessorize with any number of Valentine’s ephemera, including glitter, any of Heidi Swapp’s newest line, stickers, ribbons, twine, rose petals, candy hearts, dollies, etc.  I sewed a paper heart onto some of my cards, glued on cut-out felt hearts, and added ribbon to others.

Here are the 10 reasons I included on my hubby’s cards for some ideas/inspiration:

You give life the benefit of the doubt.

 You are unbearably handsome.

You give each day your all.

You are unwaiveringly reliable.

You grow with me in the direction of our dreams.

You inspire me to get better each day.

Your delicious kisses.

You laugh instead of losing your temper.

Your intense energy and how you express it.

You are mine (forever!).

If you’re signed up for the Valentine’s Day Banner class at the Muse, we’ll be making these Homemade Valentine’s: I Love You Because… cards along with our banners!

homemade-valentine's-4

Kisses and hearts,

xx

What'd you think?

