6 Lovely Things This Week

marylandbloggers

Maryland Bloggers’ Group

This week, I hosted the first get-together of 2014 for a blogger group run by Fadra of All Things Fadra consisting of many of my favorite Maryland and Frederick food, lifestyle, and video writers/bloggers.  For me, there’s nothing better than a room full of people who are doing things and doing things they LOVE to do.  Unlike so many networking events and gatherings where I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel for something to say and pained by repeating the same conversation over and over, these ladies are definitely doing something they love.  Everybody had something inspired and unique to contribute; everybody was dreaming, scheming, and excited to be there.  It was a Sunday afternoon well-spent with lots of tasty treats and dishes (everyone brought a dish that reflected their blog).

Arm Knitting at the Muse (below)

I spent Wednesday night at my first class through the Muse at the coziest artist’s studio in downtown Frederick.  Arm-knitting seemed simple enough, but apparently I was talking a little too much and my infinity scarf didn’t come out as planned—but, I’m repurposing it as a muff and couldn’t be happier.  (On another note, I just recently learned what a muff is.)  (As a side note to my note, upon writing this post and linking up the definition, I just recently learned what the secondary and slightly more vulgar defintion of a muff is.)  The Muse’s blog is here.  Photo courtesy of Anne Weil of Flax and Twine (who is also a Martha Stewart blogger and has a book coming out on arm knitting!  Tutorials can be found on her blog.)

arm knitting how to-7917

 DIY Chandelier Birdcage 

We hung this birdcage in the family room and originally intended it to house a vibrant green fern.  After adopting a few plants (each of whom lost the will to live after placement in the birdcage), I changed course/jumped ship and inserted a small metal chandelier instead.  I clipped one of my favorite feathered faux birds on the outside of the cage and have been loving the soft crystalled glow of our new creation ever since.

lovely-things-birdcage

Thai Cooking Class

This was my second class at the Kitchen Studio—I adore the people in these classes that I meet each time and the teachers, who are always so knowledgable and entertaining.  Okay.  But there are a LOT of ingredients in Thai food and–our favorite Thai restaurant is only 1 block away—not sure how often I’ll be whipping up a Thai dish, but it was loads of fun.  Photo courtesy of MotherThyme.

PadThai

Daily Baths with Eucalyptus, Quiet Time, and Lots of Sleep/Hot Tea

This picture says it all.

lovely-things-judah-sleeping

 

A Free Lunch (or Dinner)

For sure, one of the highlights of blogging is free stuff and the company Relished out of Chicago contacted me this week about trying their delivery meal service featuring delicious gourmet meals using fresh ingredients.  Sometimes the offers are less enticing –for example, the company Balls of Steel contacted me a few weeks ago for a sponsorship. I initially thought the email was a joke and was trying to figure out which of my friends would have sent me this prank.  But no, the product is real and, even though it wasn’t an exact fit for the blog, I was flattered.  However, free lunches (and dinners) are right up my alley and the perfect resolution to our weekly household debate as to whether to eat out (me) or stay in (my husband).  Photo courtesy of Relished.

pankocrustedcod

Wishing you a gorgeous weekend!

 

xx

What'd you think?

